Tuan edges Floro to win Mabuhay Miles Invitational

GEN. TRIAS, Cavite – Tuan Nguyen scorched the front nine and then hung on down the stretch to edge Valeriano Floro and win overall net honors at the 2008 Mabuhay Miles Elite Invitational Golf Tournament at the Eagle Ridge Golf & Country Club here Friday (Nov. 14).

Tuan, the Vietnamese-American executive of iTouch Point Technologies in Pasig City, fired two birdies en route to a gross score of 81 at the tough Andy Dye course – two strokes behind Floro’s tournament-best 79 – but took the title on the strength of a higher handicap.

Floro, managing director of Podium Motorsport and four-time winner of this event, finished as low-gross champion.

The two bested a field of 310 players – all Elite and Premier Elite members of Philippine Airlines’ Mabuhay Miles program – who competed in the event sponsored by Airbus, Allied Bank, Boeing, GE Aviation, HSBC, Master Card, Mizuno and Petron.

The rest of the field put up a spirited fight despite hot conditions at the challenging Eagle Ridge layout, where three of the four championship courses were in play for the tournament.

Typical of the close battles was the Class A competition, where the top three finishers dueled each other the entire day before ending up in a dead heat – a net score of 71.

In the countback, the two birdies and seven pars of Augie Palisoc, executive director of Metro Pacific Investments Corp., gave him the division crown over former Comelec chairman Benjamin Abalos and Augusto Theodore de Jesus, last year’s overall net champion.

The tournament had as corporate sponsors KID-Systeme, OSIM (Asian Therapeutics), Panasonic Avionics Corp. and Philippine National Bank.

Over at the Faldo course, Class B had a clear winner in Michael Andrew Sarrosa, but only just. The Bacolod-based businessman finished with a net 71, a stroke clear of Toyota Financial Services president Dexter Roberto Pasion and Franklin Mabitazan.

Belo Medical Group, Citibank, Rudy Project, Pacific Paints, Union Bank and Victorinox were the event’s minor sponsors.

Class C, played at the Norman course, produced another triple tie at the top, with the same net score of 71. But KM Holdings consultant Paul Carpio had more pars, six, to nose out Gerardo Jaspio and Richard So for the class title.

Toyota Motor Philippines and Mercedes-Benz (CATS Motors) were the hole-in-one sponsors while Century Park Hotel was the official hotel.

Class D was won by Ronald Allan So, with a net 72 over Martin Bautista and Manual Crisostomo, who submitted net rounds of 73 and 75, respectively.

The ladies division was topped by Sylvia Tan, a physician with the Specialty Clinics of St. Anne, who scored a 74 from a gross 100. JB Garcia took the guest division with a net 69.

Prize donors included Boracay Regency Beach Resort, British India/Esprit/Clark Shoes, Fridays Boracay, Makati Shangri-La, Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort, Microtel Inns & Suites, Pan Pacific Manila, TIME, Traders Hotel, World Traveller, and Xytron International.

No comments:

Post a Comment